Uganda Peoples Congress

Upsets in parliamentary race

From Monitor News, February 25, 2006

Provisional results from the 2006 parliamentary elections have produced several upsets including one that left a minister in hospital with high blood pressure.

The State Minister for Internal Affairs, Mr Kezimbira Muyingo was admitted to Nsambya Hospital complaining of high blood pressure, after he lost to independent Isaac Sejjoba in Bukoto Mid-west, Masaka district.

State Minister for Gender Sam Bitangaro lost to independent Tress Bucanayandi in Bufumbira South. Other ministers whose political careers hung by a thread by press time included State Minister for Health Mike Mukula (NRM), who lost to FDC's Joseph Ekemu in Soroti Municipality.

First Deputy Prime Minister Moses Ali, who is also in charge of the Disaster Preparedness ministry, saw his political career suffer a disaster after losing his Adjumani seat to Piro Santos. Ali scored 9,740 votes to his rival's 19,793.

The State Minister for Ethics and Integrity, Mr Tim Lwanga lost his Kyamuswa seat in Kalangala to Moses Kabusu while the State Minister for International Affairs, Henry Okello Oryem lost to UPC's Livingstone Okello Okello in Chwa County.

After trailing throughout the night, the Speaker of Parliament, Mr Edward Ssekandi sneaked back into the House by defeating Democratic Party candidate Jude Mbabali by 108 votes.

FDC's loses and gains

FDC suffered a shocking reversal of political fortunes in Busoga region, an area considered one of its strongholds. FDC Vice President Salaamu Musumba lost her Bugabula South seat to NRM's Asuman Kiyingi but claimed that her supporters were harassed to vote for Kiyingi.

"I know it's a bad result but it was not the voice of the people," Musumba told Daily Monitor yesterday "it was grabbed from me."

In Iganga, FDC's Abdu Katuntu lost the Bugweri seat to NRM's Kirunda Kivejinja in a hotly-contested and violence-ridden race, while in Jinja, Frank Nabwiso (FDC) lost the Kagoma seat to NRM's Nkayi Mbagadhi.

FDC's Paul Mwiru was unable to dislodge State Minister for Trade Igeme Nabeta out of Jinja East Municipality while Trade and Tourism Minister Daudi Migereko overcame FDC's Grace Kirya to retain the Butembe county seat.

The Deputy Speaker, Ms Rebecca Kadaga (NRM) was set to return to the House after provisional results put her ahead of her rival, Proscovia Naikoba (FDC) for the Kamuli district woman seat.

However, FDC bounced back in other parts of the East and in the North. In Nwoya, the party's Simon Oyet was leading the incumbent, DP's Zachary Olum, while its Woman MP candidate in Pader, Franca Akello was ahead of incumbent Santa Okot, an independent candidate.

FDC swept the seats in Gulu with Reagan Okumu (Aswa), Odonga Otto (Aruu) and Ogenga Latigo (Agago) all sailing through. In Lira Municipality, Mr Jimmy Akena, the son of late president Dr Milton Obote, was head of his three rivals, including UPC renegade and incumbent, Cecilia Ogwal and NRM's Sam Engola. With votes from 57 out of 63 polling station received, Akena had 12,110, Engola had 5,206 votes while Ogwal had 2,328.

Teso for FDC

FDC Secretary General Alice Alaso beat NRM's Rachael Adyango to win the Soroti district woman seat. In Soroti county, Peter Omolo of FDC defeated independent Samuel Anyolo and Ateker Ejalu of the NRM.

In Kaberamaido district, FDC's Julius Peter Emigu trounced Victor Ekesu of NRM. For Woman MP Kaberamaido, Florence Ibiu Engwabi of FDC was leading NRM's Magdalene Amayo the incumbent. In Kalaki constituency, FDC's Euku Rose was leading NRM's Orech Martin.

In Amuria district, NRM's Ecweru Musa was leading George William Ocen while for the woman MP seat, Rhoda Acen Eluru of FDC was leading State Minister for Northern Uganda Grace Akello.

In Kumi district, Patrick Amuria of FDC was leading NRM's Tom Omongole Aisu while FDC's Agnes Akiror was leading NRM's Amongi Aporu in the woman MP seat race. In Ngora county, FDC's Francis Epetait was leading NRM's Fiona Egunyu while in Bukedea County, Albert Oduman of FDC was leading.

In Kasilo county, incumbent Elijah Okupa of FDC was leading NRM's Fred Opolot while in Serere, NRM's Capt. Emily Otekat was running neck-to-neck with FDC's Richard Onyai. The incumbent, Mr Charles Koluo, lost.

NRM sweeps west

The ruling NRM was set to return a majority number to the House after sweeping several seats in western Uganda, including Ruhaama, where, First Lady Janet Museveni had an unassailable lead over FDC's Augustine Ruzindana.

In Bushenyi district, ministers Tarsis Kabwegyere (Igara), Kahinda Otafiire (Ruhinda) and Richard Nduhuura were waiting to be announced official winners after their competitors conceded early defeat.

In Rukiga county, NRM's Sam Byanagwa defeated FDC treasurer Jack Sabiiti. In Ndorwa East NRM's David Bahati was leading FDC's Alex Akampurira while in Rushenyi, State Minister for Finance Mwesigwa Rukutana was neck-to-neck with FDC's Dan Mugarura.

NRM left FDC for dead in Rukungiri with Paul Turyahikayo beating Elly Kworoba in Rubabo, Health Minister Jim Muhwezi beating Atanasius Rutaro in Rujumbura while Winfred Masiko edged Ingrid Tulinawe to the district Woman seat.

In Kanungu, Defence Minister Amama Mbabazi (NRM) was ahead of FDC's James Musinguzi in Kinkizi West, Chris Balyomuntu (NRM) defeated Callist Mpwabwoba (FDC) to take Kinkizi East whose incumbent, Rev. Hamlet Kabushenga did not seek re-election. FDC's Maj. John Kazoora lost in Kashari County. Miria Matembe, an NRM renegade running as an independent, lost the Mbarara woman MP race to NRM’s Emma Boona.

Tight race in East

Provisional results from districts in the East show gains for the opposition. In Mbale Municipality, results from 68 out of 71 polling stations had FDC's Wilfred Kajeke leading NRM's Hassan Galiwango with 11,523 votes to 7,358 votes. In the district woman MP race, FDC's Mariam Wambede was leading NRM's Nagudi Rutangye with most of the results from the municipality in by 10am yesterday.

In Manafwa district, in Bubulo East, incumbent George Wopuwa (NRM) was poised for a landslide win according to the District Information.