Uganda Peoples Congress

EC declares Museveni President

With over 98&percent; of Polling stations having sent in their results, the Electoral Commission has declared at 4:55pm (EA time) today that President Yoweri Museveni has won the presidential elections with a 59.28&percent; lead.

At that rate, the next in line, Rtd. Col. Dr. Kizza Besigye managed to score only 37.36&percent;, obviously dumpening any of his hopes to replace President Yoweri Museveni.

DP's Ssebaana Kizito takes a third position with 1.58% of the votes while UPC's Miria Obote is trailing with 0.82&percent; behind Independent Dr. Abed Bwanika who got only 0.95&percent; of the votes. Ugandans have decided.